The Church of the Ascension (www.ascensionealing.org) is the local Anglican Parish Church and the only Christian place of worship on the Haymills Estate. The church was built for the estate in 1939. Designed in a modern style by the architectural practice of John Seely and Paul Paget. its central feature is a carved wooden cross depicting Jesus, the Virgin Mary and the Beloved Disciple, created by the sculptor Alan Durst. There is also a mid-20th electric organ from the workshop of local organ builder John Compton, whose house in Audley Road is commemorated by a green plaque.
The Ascension’s diverse and international congregation is made up of local people, young and old, not just from the estate but also other parts of Ealing, Acton and beyond. Worship is recognisably Anglican using a refreshing blend of contemporary and traditional music. Children are actively welcomed and fully included. An Arabic speaking congregation, Resurrection Church, and a Sri Lankan congregation, Potter’s Palace Ministries, also meet there on Sundays.
The Ascension’s Hall is available for hire to the local community, and on weekdays hosts the Maria Montessori Nursey School (www.mariamontessori.co.uk), the Beaufort Players Drama Group (www.beaufortplayers.org.uk) and other activities. The Actions Songs and Rhymes Toddler group operates in the church building, which also often hosts community meetings such as HHERA and the Ealing Council Ward Forums. There is a monthly club for retired people called the Ascension Friends.
The Vicar, Revd Simon Reed, has been developing the church’s role in the local community since 1996, and is currently vice-chair of HHERA.